The main players in the MLLA vs. Town of Mammoth Lakes case

The saga of Southern California developer Terry Ballas and the Mammoth Yosemite Airport goes back through several Mammoth Lakes Town Councils and Town Managers to 1997.

That year, the Town Council signed a development agreement with Ballas allowing him to build condominiums and retail facilities at the airport.

The trouble came later on, when the FAA said it would support commercial air service but noted that it had some problems with Ballas’ proposed plan, mostly due to possible safety problems. Years passed and Ballas, claiming he was not allowed to develop his project, sued the Town for a breach of contract.

The courts, agreed. 


On July 4, 2012, the town announced its intent to ask for municipal bankruptcy protection after mediation attempts with Ballas and Mammoth Lakes Land Acquisition failed. 


On Aug. 21, the town reached a tentative settlement agreement with MLLA.

For the main news story on Aug. 24, 2012, click here.

Our Editorial for Aug. 24 "The Settlement"

Town Managers 1996-present


1996-1999: Tracy Fuller: Town Council appointed her on Nov. 22, 1996 and accepted her resignation on Dec. 1, 1999. 


1999-2003: Stephen Julian: Town Council approved his agreement as Interim Town Manager on Dec. 15, 1999. On June 21, 2000, they approved his agreement as the Town Manager.


2003-2004: Charlie Long: Agreement for Long as Interim Town Manager dated Nov. 19, 2003. His agreement for Assistant Town Manager was dated May 5, 2004 through Dec. 31. 2004 (although after Karen Johnston was appointed as the Deputy Town Manager, Long was used on an “as needed” basis until the contract expired).


2003-2011: Robert Clark: Agreement effective June 1, 2004 through February 2011.


February 2011-present: Interim Town manager Marianna Marysheva-Martinez appointed by Town Council; Dave Wilbrecht appointed Town Manager, with Marysheva-Martinez appointed as Assistant Town Manager; Andrew Ross appointed Town Attorney; Town asks for municipal bankruptcy protection. Michael Raimondo elected to Town Council, unopposed.


Members of the Town Council 1996-present


Kirk Stapp, David Watson, Kathleen Cage, John Eastman, and Byng Hunt


Kathleen Cage, John Eastman, Rick Wood, and Kirk Stapp. David Watson resigned and an election in November replaced him with Berenice de La Salle.


Kirk Stapp, Dan Wright, John Eastman, Kathleen Cage, and Rick Wood


Rick Wood, John Eastman, Tony Barrett, Dan Wright, and Kirk Stapp


Kirk Stapp, Skip Harvey, Tony Barrett, John Eastman, and Rick Wood


John Eastman, Neil McCarroll, Wendy Sugimura, Skip Harvey, and Kirk Stapp


Skip Harvey, Jo Bacon, John Eastman, Neil McCarroll, and Wendy Sugimura


Skip Harvey, Jo Bacon, John Eastman, Matthew Lehman, and Rick Wood



Jo Bacon, John Eastman, Matthew Lehman, Rick Wood, Michael Raimondo